Dr. Rose Constantino, a Balik Scientist Program (BSP) awardee was recognized by the American Nurses Association (ANA) as a recipient of their 2020 National Awards and will be inducted into the ANA Hall of Fame later this year.

Constantino, an expert on psychiatry, mental health nursing, and forensic nursing, has partnered with Cebu Normal University (CNU) as its host institution to implement her research project on senior citizens’ health in 2019. 

Read related article: [Balik Scientist Program awardee collaborates with CNU

“ANA is honored to celebrate the achievements of these nurses and champions, who are exemplary leaders and advocates, and whose contributions have advanced the field of nursing,” ANA President Ernest Grant said.

“As we navigate the challenges of this pandemic, now more than ever, we need to recognize the vast contributions of nurses,” he added.

ANA is an organization that represents the interests of registered nurses in the United States. The ANA National Awards is an occasion that recognizes nurses’ dedication, impact, and achievements that have contributed to the nursing profession and health care.  

Constantino will be enlisted in the 2020 Hall of Fame for having engaged in local, national, and international nursing organizations and other health-related organizations through direct patient care, committee service, and program development. 

She is considered to be an outstanding teacher and powerful role model who has guided and inspired peers and students through her distinguished service and exceptional leadership, according to ANA.  

“My warmest congratulations to Dr. Rose Constantino for the exemplary achievement in the nursing profession! We truly honor you having shared your expertise and time with us as our Balik Scientist in 2019!” Dr. Daisy Palompon, CNU Vice-President for Academic Affairs (VPAA) said. 

Constantino, who is affiliated with Pennsylvania State Nurses Association is also joined by two other individuals who will be inaugurated to ANA’s Hall of Fame this 2020. Together with her are Jeri Milstead of the Ohio Nurses Association and Tim Porter-O’Grady of the Georgia Nurses Association. 

10 individuals will also be receiving ANA’s Honorary Awards for their services to the nursing profession ranging from patient advocacy to legislative successes.

The ANA 2020 National Awards will be an important event as the World Health Organization (WHO) declared 2020 as the International Year of the Nurse and Midwife in honor of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Florence Nightingale, Founder of Modern Nursing. 

The ANA 2020 National Awards awarding ceremony is set to take place later this year. (JDF)