In a display of academic determination, the Cebu Normal University-Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center (CNU-VSMMC) College of Medicine recently made its mark at the prestigious 12th Association of Philippine Medical Colleges – Student Network (APMC-SN) Visayas Regional Assembly last April 4- 6, 2024, organized by Cebu Doctor’s University and UV-Gullas College of Medicine.

With the full support of Dr. Ma. Socorro G. Manaloto (Founding Dean), Dr. Jarungchai Anton S. Vatanagul (OIC-Dean) and the faculty mentors, this marked the FIRST TIME that CNU-VSMMC College of Medicine ventured into such event, signifying a significant milestone in its academic journey.

The journey of these medical students to the event with the theme: “HABLON: Interweaving Medical Schools towards a Colorful Tapestry of Excellence and Distinction” was marked by notable achievements in various competitions with 12 other participating medical schools in the entire Visayas region.
As first-time participants of the annual inter-school competition, the student representatives made history for the young college as they secured their spots in the top three for the Research Competition – Basic Sciences Category (2nd Runner Up) and Medical Quiz Bee (2nd Runner Up). The Basic Sciences Research team composed of Dinesse Labiros, Jhaneth Balaba, and Christian Paul Caintic was guided by Dr. Remaur Herrera and Dr. Christie Luz Rosal. Meanwhile, the Quiz Bee team composed of Marc Jebrick Ilustrisimo, Louie Relevo, Pompeyo Davnar Almagro II, and Christine Jane Tabasa was coached by Dr. Jarungchai Anton Vatanagul.

As part of the top three, both teams will represent Visayas and will advance to the APMC-SN National Assembly this coming May 2024 at Pasig City, Metro Manila.
The college also competed for the Clinico-Pathologic Case Conference and Translational Research Category. The CPC Team composed of Levi Nikee Duenas, Kimberly Camoro, Kate Marie Esmero, Grescelle Gonzaga, and Dave Anthony Ewayan was supervised by Dr. Chamberlain Agtuca, Dr. Venil Lovely Bolambao, and Dr. Vince Edward Araneta. The Translational Research team was composed of Christine Mae Arboladura, Rhenee Chona Mercado and Joahna Jean Jabao.

APMC-SN Senior Representative Rhenee Chona Mercado of the CNU-VSMMC Medicine Student Council was also awarded the Bronze Leadership Award for Fiscal Year 2022-2023.

As the college embarks on this journey of excellence, it remains steadfast in its commitment to nurturing future healthcare leaders and innovators. With the guidance of its esteemed mentors and the unwavering support of its faculty and staff, CNU-VSMMC College of Medicine is poised to make even greater strides in the field of medical education and research.

In conclusion, the recent success at the event serves as a testament to the dedication, hard work, and perseverance of the entire CNU-VSMMC CM community. As they continue to strive for excellence, they bring their mission to serve the underserved communities and leave an indelible mark on the medical landscape of the Philippines. Padayon, future Doktor Para Sa Bayan!

Article Written by:


President, Medical Student Council (CNU-VSMMC College of Medicine)